top of page

When Art Students Run Free

On Friday I was able to explore probably one of the most interesting art events I've ever been to. Beyond The Invisible took place in an old apple packing house, the large warehouse providing an enormous amount of space to wander around. The opening reception filled the space with many local art lovers, skateboarders flew by (yes there was a skateboard park built inside) and my fellow art students and I soaked in the atmosphere. The place was lit only by a number of ceiling lights, which cast an eerie yellow glow over the vast rooms.

IMG_3435.JPG
IMG_3493.JPG

There were sculptures of all sizes, makeshift galleries were built and there were spots where the rain had seeped into the old building. One of my paintings was hung in a makeshift gallery, unable to be seen upon first entering the room. It's walls were constructed of old apple crates 3 high and 3 across, which my friends built on an afternoon that I was busy (and looking back it was probably good that I was because I think I saved myself some manual labor). It was an awesome night of art, dancing, picture-taking, mingling, wandering and I may or may not have ridden two feet on a skateboard near the end of the night.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page